Third Month Thailand - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Charlotte Knol - WaarBenJij.nu Third Month Thailand - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Charlotte Knol - WaarBenJij.nu

Third Month Thailand

Door: Charlotte Knol

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Charlotte

11 Februari 2017 | Thailand, Bangkok

Dear readers,

Unfortunately, my adventure of Grand Tour has come to an end and this is my last blog about my time in Thailand. Of course I worked hard at University and travelled a lot during the last weeks as well so I hope you will enjoy my last update.

New Year’s Eve I spent on Koh Phangan, an island Southeast of Thailand. A few weeks earlier this island was overflowed by high rainfall but at the end of December tourists were allowed to go there again. We went by bus and boat and the water was really turbulent (due to the bad weather of a few weeks ago). I’ve never felt so sick during my trips and that for 6,5 hours! Once on the island it became better and on New Year’s Eve we went to a Full Moon Party, where this island is known for. Everyone painted his body and wore colourful clothes. It was a fantastic night! There were not a lot of fireworks which was a bit of a disappointment but this was because of the king who passed away, which is a completely understandable reason. Unfortunately, the rest of the days it was terrible weather on Koh Phangan and we spent most of our times in our hotel room.

At the end of the Christmas Holiday we went back to Bangkok where I visited the Grand Palace of the Royal Family, Wat Poo and Wat Arun which are all traditional buildings. During the weekends you can find the biggest market of the world in Bangkok. It is so extremely wide that you can’t see everything in one day. It is a really good place to buy souvenirs and to eat and drink Thai treats.

One of the last weekends I went to Krabi, near Phuket, to do the Tab Kak Hang Nak Hill Nature Trail. I had to climb the steep hill for about 2,5 hours but it was worth the effort. We had an amazing view on top of the mountain and took some great pictures!

The next day I took the boat to Koh Phi Phi, one of the most beautiful islands of Thailand I’ve seen: white beaches and blue water! During our stay we did a tour around the island. We visited Monkey Beach, Maya Bay, and we snorkeled and swam with plankton.

After this amazing weekend we had to return to reality again. The module came to its end and we had to finalize our project. Our team knew that we already did a lot so far but that last week was really hectic because of the final reports we had to make and next to this we had to prepare for our final presentation. Luckily, our final presentation went really well and we closed the module with an 8.5! Our client was so positive about our work that he wanted to keep in contact which is beneficial for our future career.

That last week I stayed in Bangkok to visit the last things I wanted to see. One of the last evenings we went to a rooftop bar to say goodbye to this beautiful city and Saturday the 28th of January I flew back home to Schiphol, Amsterdam, in my short. I was quite nervous to see everyone again. It was a kind of ‘’Hello Goodbye moment’’, like the television program I normally watch. The doors of the gate opened and I saw my family standing in front with a huge banner with the text: Welcome back dear Charlotte!! It was an emotional moment as well since I hadn’t seen my family and friends for half a year! One of the biggest surprise was that my grandparents and my best friend Christien were standing there as well which I didn’t know beforehand.

Once arrived home everything was completely normal again. Of course I had to get used to the cold weather because I lived in summer clothes for half a year. It was nice to see all my friends again and I moved back to Leeuwarden that week. The first days at school were a bit strange but it soon became normal for me so there was not really a culture shock.

I am already back for 2 weeks and now I’m here, I realize what I’ve done the last 5,5 months. I have seen everything I wanted to see of Bali, Java and Thailand but I definitely want to go back to Asia to see all the other countries as well. Travelling is an addiction for sure and I am looking forward to my next adventure!

I would like to say ‘’kop kun kaa’’, ‘’terima kasih’’, ‘’thank you’’, to Bali and Thailand and to everyone who took the effort to read my blogs!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Charlotte

Actief sinds 02 Okt. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 1434
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6916

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Augustus 2016 - 28 Januari 2017

Bali & Thailand adventures

Landen bezocht: